Is McDonalds Halal?

Directly from the McDonalds website…

Is your Filet O Fish Halal?

“Someone posted on facebook that your food was not halal, as we already know that you do not serve halal meat, muslims can eat fish and we regularly buy the fillet fish meals. The article said that even the fillet fish is not halal. Please can you confirm as alot of muslims enjoy the fillet fish meals and would be extremely disappointed if your fish meals were fried using the same oil as your other meat or for any other reason you can say that the fish is not halal.”

Thank you for your question. We do not serve any halal accredited food in our UK restaurants.

We cook all of our fish products in a dedicated fish vat. However, we filter the oil in all our vats to ensure it is kept in good condition and during this filtration process there is a possibility that tiny traces of oil that has been used to cook other products such as our coated chicken may come into contact with the oil used to cook our fish. Beef and pork products are cooked on the grill rather than in the vats so are not affected by this process.


Is the mcflurry halal?

“Please dont say nothing is certified halal i just wantto know if there is anything apart from dairy products that come from animails meat ect in the mcflurry”

Thank you for your question. The Dairy Milk McFlurry and the Crunchie McFlurry contain no animal products, apart from milk.
They have also been certified as suitable for vegetarians by the Vegetarian Society. The Smartie McFlurry is not suitable for vegetarians as the whey products used in Smarties may contain traces of animal rennet.